An Anglo Saxon monastery was founded here by King Merewalh of Mercia, whose abbess daughter Milburge became a saint. Her relics were miraculously rediscovered here in 1101, attracting both pilgrims and prosperity.
Now visitors can explore the ruins of the 13th century church, see the unusual replica of a monks’ washing fountain with 12th century carvings and the extravagantly decorated Chapter House all set in a topiary filled garden. Enjoy the tranquillity of this beautifully located ruin sited on the fringe of Much Wenlock.
Please visit the website for pricing
Open all year from 10am (weekends only in winter)